Move da Body! Clear Your Mind….

I often tell my clients that exercise is the best natural anti-depressant I know.  How do I know this?  Because I experience it in my own life.  It has become such a routine for me that if I miss a day, my head and my body know it!  A couple of months ago, I was having a “grouchy mom” day and my 10-year-old daughter came to me and said, “have you exercised today mom?”  I had to laugh as I looked her in the eyes and said, “no, I haven’t honey, you are so right on!”  Out of the mouths of babes…they certainly do teach us, if we listen.

So, when you exercise what do you ENJOY doing?  Don’t make it a struggle for yourself.  Do you enjoy walking, running, aerobics, hiking, biking, spinning, yoga, dance, kettlebells, swimming, riding your horse, skiing, or a combination of it all?  Exercise shouldn’t be painful, it can be challenging at times, but you should include it in your life as something that feels good.  After a good walk, dance class or aerobic workout, my mind is clear and my mood improves!  If you would rather stay home than go to the gym or go outside (sometimes it is weather permitting, although walks in snow storms are pretty cool!), there are plenty of  DVD workouts you can choose from.  Here is a list of some of my favorites…

*Yoga;  Energy Balance Yoga with Rodney Yee (Gaiam),  Power Yoga with  Bryan Kest (WB),  Iron Yoga with Anthony Carillo (Goodtimes).

*Pilates;  Hit the Spot Pilates with Denise Austin (Lions Gate)

*Tae Bo;  Fat Blasting Cardio with Billy Blanks (Goodtimes)

*Hip Hop;  Hip Hop Abs with Shaun T.  (Beachbody)…and my most recent fav!

Happy day everyone, and move da body!  Your head will thank you:)

6 thoughts on “Move da Body! Clear Your Mind….

  1. I am a runner and have been one for almost 27 years. I don’t run a lot but I consistently run three times a week, for a half an hour. Years ago running ( and knitting) is what helped me to recover from being an emotional eater. It is my new drug and it does me a world of good both mentally, physically and emotionally. Now I eat when I am hungry, stop when I am full, and eat what I love. Running helps me to keep everything in prospective and it is when I am out for a run that I figure things out. Just like in regular life, I have good days and bad ones when I run but they are mostly good and running is really one of my favorite things to do. Sounds crazy I know but it’s true.

  2. I get alot of exercise at work running around…Does that count?LOL.. I do wish I had more time to exercise because it does make you feel better about yourself.

    • That counts! Every move you make counts:) Other daily reminders…take the stairs, walk farther through the parking lot, walk to the store or your friends house (if they live close by), walk a few blocks on your lunch hour (ha ha)….the possibilities are endless! Most importantly, take time to yourself!:)

  3. Your post is spot-on. I am a walker and I do it everyday. I know that it helps keep me emotionally healthy. If I am having a bad day all I have to do is go outside for as little as 10 minutes and walk and my mood lifts. I’ve also noticed that stretching every morning keeps me feeling great all day.

Leave a Reply

