Circle of Friends

“The only way to have a friend is to be one.”  ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

I am so blessed to have amazing friends in my life!  Some I have known a lifetime, some are more recent and some have re-entered my life.  For whatever reason, they have connected to me in a beautifully spiritual, and often serendipitous, way.  My heart fills when I think about how their love has carried me through so much in my life, as my love has surrounded them too.  A true friend is one who loves you unconditionally.  No judgment, no expectations, just pure love.  They are the ones who are always there for you, no matter what.  Friendships are give and take, and it is important to remember the giving part.  It all circles around and grows with each passage of trust.

My chain of  girlfriends began the day I was born.  A picture of my babysitter and I sits on my mantle.  I was two and she was just a teenager.  She is still a member of our family to this day, I call her mama sis.  She is so very special to all of us.  My sisters have been there for me through thick and thin, as I have been for them.  We’re sisters, a bond that never breaks and a love that never fades.  My dear childhood friend who has been so full of unconditional love since I can remember, unbelievable the heart she has.  My Round Robin girls, we’ve been through so much together.  We started our Round Robin chain letters 30 years ago and it continues today, including fun reunion trips!  My forever “roomie”,  our intuitive connection never ceases to amaze me.  We were assigned as roommates our first day of college and hit it off immediately!  We remained together all four years and we continue to build more memories.  My college swim team co-captain, who provided so much fun and support in our swimming days, and remains a wonderful friend today.  My silly friend who hikes with me and takes me up these crazy hills!  Always a laugh and I always feel renewed after our time together.  My dear friend who has the spiritual wisdom, patience, strength and kindness that truly amazes me.  A bond that was formed many years ago as Spirit brought us together.  My sweet soul sister who is full of so much love, grace and compassion it’s unfathomable the light she emits.  My latest wonderful Spirit connection who gives so much love and always reminds me of the importance of the spirit of the horse!  All my sister-in-laws who continue to be so special to me and provide lots of beautiful colors to our family.  So many friends along the way, too numerous to mention but I know I am beyond blessed to have had each of them touching my life.

Always remember your circle of friends and how their love has weaved through your life.  I don’t know where I would be today without the love of friends surrounding me.  As I carve my way, they have helped shape me into the spiritual being I have become.  Thank you, friends.  From the bottom to the top of my heart, I LOVE YOU!

13 thoughts on “Circle of Friends

  1. What a beautiful blog you wrote today Cindy! I feel so fortunate to have had you in my life…I tell my swimmers that I coach, that as corny as it sounds, being named co-captain was a life changing event for me! I wasn’t the strongest swimmer on the team by far and the fact that I was chosen to be co-captain with you gave me confidence and a leadership ability that I don’t think I would have today. You were (are) strong and funny and have remained true to yourself and others. Your writing and healing touches so many and I am sure you are creating life-changing moments everyday! Sending the love right back at ya!
    Peace, Peace, Peace…Namaste!

    • Sue, I so much agree that being co-caps shaped a piece of our lives in such a positive way (as Louise will attest to also, as we were co-caps in high school:). I also beg to differ that you weren’t the strongest swimmer…humility is a good thing though:) I’ll never forget those days, the hard work or the fun we had. Team athletics builds so much character in a person and I loved experiencing it with you! xoxoxo

  2. Oh, wow, Cin, very touching. Thank you for writing such beautiful words about all those who have touched your life. You have been an inspiration for many of us (if not all). In many ways, the “glue” (for lack of a better word) that has held us together. I look forward to your daily writings and your constant inspiration. Love, Mar

  3. I have many acquaintances across the states, but a couple of “true friends”. Because my life was traveled in such a different way I wasn’t able to collect real commrade friends, so to speak. Even so, I would not trade the ones I do have now for anything in this world. I read somewhere ? that when the chips are down and the rest of the world walks out…a true friend walks in. Cynthia, you are a true friend and Lightworker!
    ~Raven

  4. Oh Cindy,
    What a beautiful expression of Love to all those you hold close to your heart!
    You, my sweet friend, are the most loving and giving person! You who show up for whoever is in need!
    You give your love freely!
    That is the best kind of friend one can ever cherish!
    I treasure our friendship Cindy, and am forever grateful we reconnected!
    I love you!
    xoxo

  5. Thank you Cyn. I hope you know how lucky I feel to still have you in my life. As we grow older we all need our circle of friends even more.

    I like what Christopher said to his friend Pooh:
    Promise me you’ll always remember: You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.”

    When the chips are down friends need each other more than ever, and when they aren’t hopefully we will always remember to acknowledge how crucial friendships are to all of us in our lives.

    They are the glue.

    xo, Louisa

  6. Oh, I have no idea how to comment this piece….to be included is an honor and you never cease to amaze me by your words and love. I am so thankful to know you and be a part of your family. I treasure that day many years ago and will never forget what fun we have had together.

    Hugs and love,

    Cindy

  7. So true sis! We have been through so much together. It is a comfort to know that your friends and sisters are always there through thick and thin:) I know I am so blessed to have such wonderful friends and my two wonderful sisters:)

    Love You, Patty

  8. So, my dear roomie — I haven’t checked my e-mail in days because we’re away for my spring break vacation. We’re visiting a place where you have lived & will be visiting soon — Seattle. And, of course, I actually thought of you today because we were having lunch at a little place in Anacortes, WA and the owner said that the name of their mermaid mascost is Setrocana (backwards for Anacortes) — now who would I think of but you!! And, here you did your circle of friends post today & I checked my e-mail . . . just has to happen that way! Love you — always will. Your forever roomie.

    • Oh Marje, see? That intuitive connection never ceases to amaze me! And you’re in Seattle, no less…but of course:) I’m sure you and Jim are having a wonderful time, I can’t wait to return! It’s been 16 years since we left, Kelley was just a baby. Maybe my next post I should write it backwards and make it like a tongue twister for everyone:D Ahhh, only you and a few others (on this page) know of my “silly human tricks”. Funny. Love you roomie!

  9. Cindy,
    Such beautiful words spoken from the heart. I too am so grateful for my friends. I have no “blood” sisters but in my heart I have many who have stuk by me over the years and whom have given me strength. I am so grateful for you and your beautiful spirtit!
    Much love,
    Meghan

  10. Okay, now I’m at a loss for words! Each one of you is so special to me in many ways…my heart just lights up reading every one of your comments! As the Beatles sing in my favorite Beatles tune…”In my life, I’ve loved them all…do do do do do do do do do do doooo,,,,” xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

