Animal Spirituality

Are there animals that seem to walk into your life often?  Have you ever thought about the messages that each animal brings you?  Many cultures give great meaning to these messages.  Native Americans have always felt a spiritual connection to all animals.  There is a deep respect and profound communication that occurs.  I often see deer on my walks, black bear show up at my back door a few times a year, and as of late, the majestic eagle has been flying high and low around me.  I see, listen and stay open for Spirit to guide me through these messages.

If an animal has been showing up for you, research the meaning.  You may be surprised how in sync the message is with your life situation.  Maybe not:)  Below is some of my research on the Eagle….

“The Eagle represents spiritual protection, carries prayers, and brings strength, courage, wisdom, illumination of spirit, healing, creation, and knowledge of magic.  The eagle has the ability to see hidden spiritual truths, rising above the material to see the spiritual.  The eagle has an ability to see the overall pattern, and the connection to spirit guides and teachers.  The eagle represents great power and balance, dignity with grace, a connection with higher truths, intuition and a creative spirit grace achieved through knowledge and hard work.”   ~Eagle Spirit Ministry

The dictionary of scripture and myth, describes the Eagle as;

A symbol of the holy spirit, which flies, as it were, through the mind (air) from the higher nature (heaven) to the lower nature (earth) and soars aloft to the self (sun).

6 thoughts on “Animal Spirituality

  1. This is powerful Cindy!

    I love what the eagle represents and it is all that you are!

    I have had many butterfly experiences.
    I know that they are spiritual in nature.
    I believe they represent transformation.

    Lately, this bluebird keeps appearing on my patio.
    I would say that this bluebird represents ….’the bluebird of happiness.’
    So I take this message from the bluebird as I will be hearing wonderful and happy news soon.

    Animals are full of messages for all of us as they are the sweetness and beauty of nature.

    They are the purity of God!

    xoxoxo

  2. A great post Cynthia. As you know I follow all the signs of Nature. My two personal animal totems are the wolf and raven. The symbology of the two fits with my own nature. I have a little squirrel guru who comes to my patio often and poses as if in a meditative posture. What a cute sight sitting on my flower crock. I have an interest in and study the way of the Shaman, so of course the animals of all sorts are included. You are truly a “deer-spirit” Cynthia. 😉
    ~Raven

  3. Sparrows do it for me.

    Why ? When I first moved to my present home, alone, I left behind all the rock star birds like Cardinals, Orioles, and Blue Jays, and all I had was dirty little sparrows. Yuck. But I put out a feeder and some trees in pots and built a relationship with them. Now they visit every day, unless the hawk is around. Over the years I’ve grown to love their antics, they’re such a goofy little gang ( they prefer “gang” to “flock”, it makes them feel tough, being city birds and all). Now, each morning they’re waiting for me to fill the feeder. They hop aside as I do, then once I turn my back they dive for the perches and munch away. Once their bellies are full, they jump to the branches to chirp, preen, and socialize in the sunshine. It’s as if they’re telling each other stories and poking fun. Sometimes they squabble but a moment later they’re back together having fun. They really have a nice little life going, despite their scruffy surroundings.

    I guess what they’ve taught me is that whatever your surroundings are, luxurious or not so much so, community and having fun are keys to happiness.

    • When my daughter was three, she developed Bells Palsy as a side effect of Lymes Disease. That spring, a small black kitten wandered into our backyard and hid under our deck. I am fiercely allergic to cats and my husband said, “don’t feed that cat”, but Amanda loved her and I felt she’d bring us good luck, and now, 16 years later, she is lying by my feet as I write this, keeping us safe. The seagulls’ call is my Aunt’s hello. And I also see many deer on my walks! No black bears though…I’d like that!

  4. Thank you, friends, for all your wonderful animal stories! I love hearing sweet and funny tales of the birds, Maria and Paul. And yes, Raven, of course the raven and wolf are your totems (this I’ve known:), and how cute is your guru squirrel?! Sue, how wondrous is it that your kitten showed up right at the right time for Amanda. They know, and so does Spirit. Funny, we have a 16 year old cat that came to us the same way..my husband told me not to feed him too…yeah, right. He took right to my daughter, Kelley, and she named him that day (Jake). Barbara, the Eagle in your photo led me to this post. It just wouldn’t let go of me. I went to Barnes and Noble yesterday, after writing this post, and what do I see first thing? A box of cards titled, Animal Messages…seek inspiration from your animal guides. Of course I had to buy it. When I opened the box, guess what card was on top?! I swear! This Eagle is soaring all around me. Then I do the 3 card draw for past, present and future…and yes, the Eagle is my future card. No more questions, it just is what it is….mysterious, miraculous and glorious!

Leave a Reply

