The Body Temple

I just stumbled upon this wonderful workout DVD at Rite Aid for $3.99.  Kathy Smith’s  “Build Muscle, Shrink Fat.”  Kathy has been around since the early 1980’s and continues to stay with the times as she guides you through 30 minutes of interval training and core conditioning.  All are encouraged to go at their own pace and increase moves as you gain strength.  I love this workout, and if Kathy is any indication that fitness and a healthy lifestyle is consistently drinking from the fountain of youth, I would perk up and listen.

As a competitive swimmer and horseback rider in my younger years, I am no stranger to exercise.  It has continued in various forms throughout my life.  What I have found about moving my body and increasing my heart rate is that it gives me so much energy!  My mind clears so that I am able to work through the challenges life throws me and I feel lighter somehow.  As the weight is lifted my core strength expands, both physically and emotionally.  For those of you who experience symptoms of depression, exercise is the best natural anti-depressant on the market.

So get out there and move your body today!  Go for a walk on your lunch break, jump on your trampoline with your kids, take the stairs instead of the elevator, wipe the dust off of that DVD and exercise!  You will be happy you did.  Feel the joy in every step and live your life!

6 thoughts on “The Body Temple

  1. I change my stance: love and EXERCISE is all there is! It is the oil and the gas that propels us through life physically, emotionally and mentally. If you doubt it, have a look around and observe the contrast between those who are doing it, and those who are not.

    You rock Cindy-Lou-Who 🙂

  2. Cindy,
    I Always notice I have increased energy when I do something physical like walking or hiking.
    The endorphins release and I feel energetic.
    It also helps release excess tension from daily life.
    It reminds me that I am here on planet earth in this physical body….lol…..it keeps me grounded!
    Most of the time I don’t feel that I am in my body. It is such a surpize to have that moment of awareness. It is a dual thing for me as I live from the 7th chakra most of the day and of course night!
    Anyway, this is my reality…..lol!

  3. This post certainly brought back memories when I used to do body building with all those gurus! And yes…way back to Jack LaLanne! It feeds the body and energizes the mind. The positive side-effect of strength training is how good it is for the bones as we age. (the nurse part of me talking…LOL) I actually had to let go of my Kathy Smith videos as she is one tough work-out gal, and at my age I need slower. 😉
    ~Raven

Leave a Reply

