The Feeling of Fitness

Do you pay attention to how you feel after a good workout?  Whether it’s going for a hike, doing a full-out workout, riding your bike,  hiking a mountain or taking the stairs, there is a feeling you get when your heart is pumping and your endorphins are moving through your body.  For me, it is a feeling of lightness, strength and joy.  Add a healthy diet with a little bit of sunshine mixed in and it’s a feeling of euphoria!

Below is a workout I did with my trainer yesterday.  I love interval workouts, in a short period of time your body is working to a maximum, and you feel it!  All total, my body was working hard for 7.5 minutes, with equal rest, and yes, my heart was pumping!  I’ve also been combining more weight work (10 pound bar bells) to increase my strength.  There is something about feeling inner strength when my outer frame is firm.  It absolutely increases one’s self-esteem, naturally.  After my workout I drank a green smoothie (yum!), got my hair cut, and indulged in a relaxing pedicure…what a day!  The sun was shining and my sunroof was open with my favorites tunes playing.  Enjoy all the senses God gave you, you will feel ec-static when you do!  Extend yourself to the universe and it will surround you with all the nature of LOVE…

Here is a sample of my workout yesterday, created by my trainer, Dr. Vice.  For more information on his workouts and healthy living see his website at http://onehealthyvice.com.

This is a fun 30:30 bodyweight interval workout.  For anyone who thinks you can’t get a good workout with using your own bodyweight, give this little circuit a go!

Warm-up first, then proceed to workout…

30 sec work : 30 sec rest

1. Squat Jumps

2. Lunge (with left foot forward)

3. Lunge (right foot forward)

4. Push-Ups

5. Mountain Climbers

Perform 1-5 in order, then repeat for a least 3 circuits = 15 min workout.  Don’t cheat on the rest periods!  30 seconds of ALL OUT WORK with strict form…ALWAYS remember quality over quantity…then 30 seconds of rest.  Pretty simple workout but I am sure this will get the heart racing!

Cool Down/Stretch

Then when the body is ready, drink a green smoothie!!!

4 thoughts on “The Feeling of Fitness

  1. Yes! Nothing is more wonderful and important than taking care of ourself! Point #1 in the lessons of life. You make me want to get out the door right now for my run Cyn.

    Your workout reminds me our swimming days. I just started doing sit-ups 3 weeks ago for the first time in like 30 years. At first they were so hard but now I can’t believe how much easier they are to do.

    I have this page I pulled out of a magazine on my bulletin board in my studio that says ” Never, Never, Ever Stop Moving” It’s a great reminder.

  2. These workouts absolutely remind me of swimming days, Lou. The intervals are like the sprint intervals that we used to do…being sprinters that we are, we always loved those! You’re moving before your mind catches on that you’re working out…a great feeling, and a great natural high. At the end of our workout, and a good ol’ high five, I looked at Dr. Vice and said, “you know, as long as you’re in shape, it’s ALL in the MIND!” I’ve always felt this with swimming. We can push ourselves to move faster or we can allow our mind to tell us we can ‘t do it. Yes we can! “Never, Never, Ever Stop Moving!” I love that…and we don’t;)

Leave a Reply

