I Will

“Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts.” ~Winston Churchill

Recently, I did something I thought had passed me by.  It’s something I often pondered about but with the busy-ness of life, and the little questions in the back of my mind, I convinced myself I had done my time.  I was wrong. All the fears I accumulated over time was nothing but a cavern of deception.  So I pulled together my best suit, cap and goggles, and joined a Masters Swim Team.  As a competitive swimmer from the age of five to twenty two, I wasn’t sure I could pull this fifty one year old body together enough to swim a practice beginning to end.  I was pleasantly surprised when I touched the wall at the end of my 100th length.  Not only did I feel an accomplishment, I felt like I had returned home.

Anything we do in life never has to end.  If it’s something that has brought you joy in the past there’s no reason it can’t be added to your present.  Often, I ask my clients what they do for themselves that brings them happiness. More often than not, the answer is, “I don’t know.”  That’s when I direct them to reach deep down into their bellies and recall what they loved or dreamed of as a child.  That’s when their face lights up and they begin to remember all they have shoved down to meet the responsibilities of others.  Given the choice to rediscover your successes in life, what courageous journey would you embark upon?

I know many, and I will. Allow your heart to search, you will too.

Leave a Reply

